Celebrity news

Pulitzer Prizes Recognize Washington Post for Jan. 6 Coverage | Celebrity News

NEW YORK (AP) — The Washington Post won the Pulitzer Prize for Public Service Journalism on Monday for its coverage of the Jan. 6 uprising at the United States Capitol, an attack on democracy that was a shocking start for a tumultuous year that also saw the end of America’s longest war, in Afghanistan.

The Post’s extensive reporting, published in a sophisticated interactive series, exposed numerous problems and failures in political systems and security before, during and after the January 6, 2021 riot in the newspaper’s own backyard.

The “compelling and vividly presented narrative” gave audiences “a deep and unflinching understanding of one of the nation’s darkest days,” said awards administrator Marjorie Miller when announcing the award. price.

Five Getty Images photographers received one of two news photography awards for their coverage of the riot.

The other award given in news photography went to Los Angeles Times correspondent and photographer Marcus Yam, for his work related to the fall of Kabul.

The U.S. withdrawal and resurrection of the Taliban’s grip on Afghanistan spread across all categories, with The New York Times winning in the international reporting category for reporting contesting official accounts of deaths. civilians in US airstrikes in Syria, Iraq and Afghanistan.

The Pulitzer Prizes, administered by Columbia University and considered the most prestigious in American journalism, reward work in 15 journalism categories and seven artistic categories. This year’s awards, which were broadcast live, honored work produced in 2021. The Public Service Award winner receives a gold medal, while winners in each of the other categories receive $15,000.

The intersection of health, safety and infrastructure played a prominent role among the winning projects.

The Tampa Bay Times won the investigative reporting award for “Poisoned,” its in-depth look at a polluting lead factory. The Miami Herald won the breaking news award for its work covering the fatal Surfside condo tower collapse, while the Better Government Association and the Chicago Tribune won the local reporting award for “Deadly Fires, Broken Promises.” , the watchdog and the newspaper’s review of a lack of enforcement of fire safety standards.

“As a newsroom, we have poured our hearts into breaking news and continued daily coverage, and subsequent investigative coverage, of the story of the Champlain Towers South condominium collapse,” wrote Miami Herald editor Monica Richardson in a statement. “It was our story to tell because the people and families of Surfside who were affected by this unthinkable tragedy are part of our community.”

Elsewhere in Florida, Tampa Bay Times editor and vice president Mark Katches echoed that sentiment, calling his newspaper’s victory “a testament to the importance of a vital local newsroom like the Times.” .

The Explanatory Reporting award went to Quanta Magazine, with the board highlighting the work of Natalie Wolchover, for a feature-length article on the James Webb Space Telescope, a $10 billion engineering effort to better understand the origins of the universe.

The New York Times also won the award in the national reporting category, for a project focusing on police traffic stops that ended in deaths, and Salamishah Tillet, a general reviewer for The Times, won the award for criticism.

A story that used cartoon-style graphics to tell the story of Zumrat Dawut, a Uyghur woman who said she was persecuted and detained by the Chinese government in connection with systemic abuses against her community, brought the Illustrated Reporting and Commentary Award to Fahmida Azim, Anthony Del Col, Josh Adams and Walt Hickey of Insider.

The Atlantic’s Jennifer Senior won the feature award, for an article marking the 20th anniversary of the 9/11 attacks through one family’s grief.

The Kansas City Star’s Melinda Henneberger won for her comments, for her columns about a retired police detective accused of sexual abuse and those who said they were assaulted calling for justice.

The editorial writing award went to Lisa Falkenberg, Michael Lindenberger, Joe Holley and Luis Carrasco of the Houston Chronicle, for stories that called for voting reforms and exposed voter suppression tactics.

The Futuro Media and PRX teams won the audio reportage award for the profile of a man who has been in prison for 30 years and is being reintegrated into the outside world.

The feature photography award went to Reuters’ Adnan Abidi, Sanna Irshad Mattoo, Amit Dave and Danish Siddiqui for photos from the COVID-19 toll in India. Siddiqui, 38, who won a 2018 Pulitzer in the same category, was killed in Afghanistan in July while documenting fighting between Afghan forces and the Taliban.

The Pulitzer Prizes also awarded a special citation to Ukrainian journalists, recognizing their “courage, endurance and commitment” in covering the ongoing Russian invasion that began earlier this year. Last August, Pulitzer’s board of directors granted a special citation to Afghan journalists who risked their safety to help produce reports and images from their own war-torn country.

Copyright 2022 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without permission.